img

A few days ago I added a link to seriouseats´ article about Belgian beer styles. Today I continue with a new one – this time about British beer styles. British beer is very famous and the tradition is very old. I love their styles because I prefer bitter brews and British beer is synonymous for bitter. So what else is made there?

seriouseats.com

“When I began to plan this series of beginner’s guides to the world’s most famous beer styles, I was pumped. I would get to shine light on the underappreciated lagers of Germany and reignite passions for the Belgian beers that gave so many of us beer geeks our start. I’d get to draw attention to the style-bending innovation occurring in the United States [coming soon]! But along with that, I’d have to cover British beers. Less pumped all of a sudden.

It’s not that I don’t like British beer. I do! There are few things better to me than a couple of rounds of well-made ESB or mild in a cozy pub.

But writing about British beer styles is complicated. Beer culture in Britain is as much about the culture of cask ale and the pub as it is the beer itself. In the Oxford Companion to Beer, Pete Brown describes the scene as “something that re

In other words—just discussing beer styles sells British beer short. These beer styles also have a history of dramatic change over time such that it’s difficult to establish what a “traditional” example of any style looks like.fuses to be bottled, standardized, or easily replicated.”

Then there are the myths and half-truths. Think that IPA was invented to sustain British troops in India? Think milds have always been super low in alcohol? Think porter was invented by a dude named Ralph Harwood? These often-told fanciful stories are more myth than history.

So let’s get into it. Curious about the beer styles of Britain? Here’s an introduction.”

A Beginner’s Guide to British Beer Styles